Wednesday 19 March 2014

Lykke Li | No Rest For The Wicked

When Lykke Li said "Every song on the album is a power ballad" she most certainly wasn't lying as the Swedish songstress returns with her brand new single No Rest For The Wicked. Weighed down by its fragility and broken vocals it doesn't take long for the track to expand in to a gorgeous piano led composition, gripping from the moment it sets off. Lykke commented,"No Rest For The Wicked is the second song I wrote for I Never Learn. I wrote it in Sweden when I was packing up my shit, and I’d just gotten out of a relationship and it was a horrible time. I just had the hurt, shame, sadness, guilt, longing. The vocal track, the take, is the demo. In the verse, I’m referring to myself pleading guilty but I’m referring to all of us."

No Rest For the Wicked will be released April 21st with the new album 'I Never Learn' set to follow on 5th May 2014 through LL Recordings/Atlantic Records.

I Never Learn Tracklist
01. I Never Learn 
02. No Rest for the Wicked 
03. Just Like a Dream
04. Silverline 
05. Gunshot 
06. Love Me Like I’m Not Made of Stone 
07. Never Gonna Love Again 
08. Heart of Steel 
09. Sleeping Alone

European & UK Tour Details
April 24 – Berns, Stockholm
April 27 – AB, Brussels
April 29 – Astra, Berlin
April 30 – Kesselhaus, Munich
May 2 – E-Werk, Cologne
May 3 –Tivolivredenburg, Utrecht
May 6 – Trianon, Paris
May 8 – Village Underground, London  
May 9 – Village Underground, London  
May 15 – Apollo Theatre, NYC
May 19 – The theatre at the Ace Hotel, LA


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.