Thursday 5 August 2021

Holly Humberstone - Please Don’t Leave Just Yet

Fast rising pop-wunderkind Holly Humberstone returned last night with her brand new single Please Don’t Leave Just Yet. Collaborating with Matty Healy from The 1975, the track's emotive energy delivers another immaculately pieced together slow-burner as subtle percussion echoes beneath its spacious swelling. In Holly’s own words: "The song is about wanting someone to stay so badly, even if only for five more minutes, because you know how much it’ll hurt when they leave. I think the desperation in the words really sums up how I was feeling at the time and how so many people must’ve been feeling last year when we were all completely starved of human connection! I often write songs with a bit of a visual in my head, and I kept picturing solitary places, like drifting far out to sea, so far that you can’t find a way back, or old deserted cargo shipping yards with all the lights at the edge of the city".  

Please Don't Leave Just Yet is taken from Holly’s second EP The Walls Are Way Too Thin which follows on from her critically acclaimed debut Falling Asleep At The Wheel, and is due for release 5 November. Take a listen for yourselves below. 

This EP represents a feeling of being lost. It’s the kind of lost that makes you question who you are and where you belong. So lost that someone might need to find you again because you can’t find yourself. That’s how it felt to move to Liverpool, then London, and be in transit between cities and never settling” - says Holly. You can Pre-Order it here

The Walls Are Way Too Thin Tracklist 

1. Haunted House

2. The Walls Are Way Too Thin

3. Please Don’t Leave Just Yet

4. Thursday

5. Scarlett

6. Friendly Fire


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.