Thursday 21 August 2014

The Drums | I Can't Pretend

Following on from the release of Magic Mountain, The Drums return with a synth heavy second offering from their third studio album 'Encyclopedia'. Whilst I wasn't totally won over by its predecessor (although I did enjoy its b-side) I Can't Pretend offers a lot more in terms of musicality and clarity. Building upon its warm fuzzy foundation of jazzy synths the track sweeps along in glorious style before its raw burned out guitars take over divulging a new and mystifying direction. The forthcoming new album entitled 'Encyclopedia' is set for release September 22nd.

"Encyclopedia is full of magic and surprise while maintaining a serious, more weighty tone throughout,” says Jonny. “We were feeling very angry, confused, and alone when we made this album; and we wanted to be very honest this time around, even if being honest meant making some people uncomfortable. We’ve left the beach for higher ground, always searching for hope.”

Encyclopedia’ Tracklist:
“Magic Mountain”
“I Can’t Pretend”
“I Hope Times Doesn’t Change Him”
“Kiss Me Again”
“Let Me”
“Break My Heart”
“Face Of God”
“U.S. National Park”
“Deep In My Heart”
“Bell Laboratories”
“There Is Nothing Left”
“Wild Geese”


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.